Something Crafty

27 Nov

Being a twenty-six year old on a budget I naturally had to borrow some old home decor from my parents. Although grateful for the free lighting, the plain lamps my mom gave me were in dire need of a facelift. If you know me, you know that I’m obsessed with polka dots and stripes so I decided to bring my passion for pattern to life through my lights.
Although not my initial intention, I think this lamp takes on a Kate Spade like quality like the pattern you can see here on my favorite Kate Spade cell phone case.

It is my dream to have a navy and white stripped wall in my apartment. In the meantime, I’ll settle for the pattern on a slightly smaller scale.

Using painters tape for the stripes and a circular stencil for the polka dots along with some acrylic paint, I was able to update my lamps without having to touch my wallet.

4 Responses to “Something Crafty”

  1. Deb November 27, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    awesome – my light fixture never looked so good!

  2. patinaandcompany November 28, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Sweet ideas!

  3. Cowboys and Crossbones November 28, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Fabulous transformation!

  4. katherine November 29, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    I love these! I need to get more crafty, myself!

Leave a comment