Sweet Tooth

22 Apr

Everyone deserves something a little sweet on a Monday morning.

This weekend my childhood friend and token second sister introduced me to Sugar Sweet Sunshine bakery on Rivington Street. I almost passed right by this cozy little shop, but the witty sign outside caught my attention.

I particularly like the #1 reason the best: because it tastes better than a radish

From cupcakes to pies, this 70’s vibe bakery had everything including a very friendly and informative staff. Everything from the decor to the desserts felt homemade. There are hundreds of cupcake shops in the city and I feel like I often leave disappointed. The cake is typically dry and the frosting tastes too sweet. Once you’ve tasted one, you’ve tasted them all. I’d much prefer some boxed Betty Crocker than most of the chain cupcake shops in NYC. With that being said, Sugar Sweet Sunshine couldn’t have impressed me more. My friend suggested the bread pudding,which is something I wouldn’t typically order. I ordered a small shot of it and I found myself immediately wishing I had asked for a larger size.

The chocolate chip extravaganza bread pudding was delicious with chocolate chips, cookie dough, and caramel. It made for the perfect after brunch treat and a delicious downtown walk.

I wish I had the recipe to share with all of you, but I guess the secret of the recipe is what makes it so special. Here are 3 other bread budding recipes I’d love to try to make on a rainy day.

Paul Dean’s Best Bread Pudding

Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding

White Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding

2 Responses to “Sweet Tooth”

  1. Kate April 23, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    YUM! I could seriously eat this for breakfast right now!

  2. deanjbaker April 23, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    numnumnumnum šŸ™‚

Leave a comment