Avocado & Egg on Toast

14 Jun

IMG_6237

Now I know that avocado and eggs on toast is the new in thing to be eating for breakfast, but I swear that I discovered this simple, but delicious recipe back in 2012. After a swanky NYC brunch at Whitehall where I was served a similar dish, I was inspired to whip up my own version.

IMG_6203

As I’ve said in the past, I consider myself more of an “assembler” than a cook so this breakfast recipe is right up my alley. There are several ways you can do this, but all you really need is some delicious fresh bread, avocado, eggs and olive oil.

IMG_6210IMG_6219IMG_6227

Cook up your egg however you’d like (this recipe also tastes great with a poached egg).

Mash up at least ½ an avocado and drizzle it with some olive oil.

Cut a nice thick piece of your bread and toast it.

Spread your avocado mash onto the bread and place your egg on top and serve!

You can also try putting chili flakes on your avocado mash to give it a little kick. I personally like to use a good amount of ground black pepper and some sea salt.

IMG_6235

5 Responses to “Avocado & Egg on Toast”

  1. lulu June 14, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    I am so hungry right now I could chew the photo of this which just happens to be my kind of breakfast.

  2. The Wandering Gourmand June 14, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    I have never heard of this before so I’m giving you all the credit. I think this might be breakfast over the weekend.

  3. explodyfull June 15, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    Delicious! The bread you’ve used looks fantastic!

  4. pretemoiparis June 16, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    SOLD! I love avacado. And it looks like the perfect breakfast treat for energy and endurance! Merci.

  5. uniquelyhandmadeonly June 17, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    How would this be with scrambled egg? I just can’t do fried eggs; just something about the way they feel in my mouth. I love avocado any way you do it.

Leave a Reply

