21 May

Banh Mi Dog

I’ve been a fan of the banh mi since I took my first bite of one at NYC’s Co Ba. I knew an upscaled hot dog would be the perfect dish for my doggie style party and the banh mi became my inspiration. I don’t necessarily consider myself a cook as much as I do an “assembler” who can put together tasty ingredients in a simple way and this recipe is the perfect example. Using Rachel Ray’s recipe as my base, I simplified it a bit and came up with this unique and oh so tasty banh mi dog.

IMG_5330

What You’ll Need:

  • Pork hot dogs
  • Baguette
  • 1 large carrot, shredded
  • 1/4 cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro

For the sriracha mayo:

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon sriracha
  • 1 small clove garlic
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons white rice vinegar

IMG_5349

1. If you’d like to pickle your carrots, be sure to prep those ingredients at least one hour ahead of time. All you have to do is combine 1 cup hot water, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup rice vinegar and 1 tablespoon of sea salt in a mixing bowl. Pour over your shredded carrots and put in the fridge for at least an hour.

2. Whisk the sriracha mayo ingredients together in a small bowl.

3. Boil your hot dogs then cut in half and crisp them on a skillet.

4. Warm up you baguette and add your mayo, meat, veggies and top it all of with some delicious cilantro!

IMG_5430

3 Responses to “”

  1. kcassi30 May 21, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    These look YUMMY!!! I am going to have to try them!

  2. Marie-Pier | 4 Seasons at Home May 21, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    I love banh mi sandwiches too! I make mine with roasted chicken and roll all the ingredients in a naan bread, it’s delicious!

  3. Uyen May 21, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    My absolute favorite sandwich… so tasty!

Leave a Reply

