Doggie Style

16 May

This party has not gone to the dogs, but rather celebrates our furry little friends in an upscaled and quirky way. Inspired by my  Banana Peanut Butter Dog Treats, I put together a simple and, of course, budget friendly, dog themed tablescape.IMG_5390Using some plastic dog figurines that I purchased from the toy section of my local convenient store I created a great set of place card holders. All I needed was some primer, gold spray paint and an X-acto knife to transform a little piece of plastic into a classy, but unusual conversation starter. 

Dog Party 1A hot dog seemed like the logical choice for this doggie inspired party, but I upscaled the classic dish  by creating a Banh Mi dog. I put a Vietnamese twist on the hot dog by using pork dogs on a baguette with pickled carrots, cucumber and cilantro. All of this is topped off with some spicy sriracha mayo. Not only do I love the colors on this dish, but the flavors are out of this world. 

Dog Party 2

I put my old school brown paper lunch bags to use by creating “Doggie Bags” for my guests. Using my patterned scissors I cut my brown paper bag in half, adorned it with a paw print stamp and filled it with some delicious sweet potato waffle fries.

Dog Party 3

8 Responses to “Doggie Style”

  1. Ice Beautiful May 16, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    Love the tablescape! Those golden dog place card holders are adorable!

  2. Deb May 16, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    once again, love your unique ideas!

  3. Life&Ink May 16, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Very clever! 🙂

  4. brunchforeverymeal May 16, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    Such a saucy title, Linds!

  5. lovehaightcupcakes May 16, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    really really cute!

  6. slipcoverstudio May 16, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    Love the place card holders 🙂

  7. bepcity May 17, 2013 at 12:38 am #

    I like this so much.

  8. rebeccasdelightfulhome May 20, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    I never thought hot dogs could be “upscale”, nice job! Looks yummy! Such a unique idea to make the gold dog card holders, and they look classy!

Leave a Reply

