10 May

Rubber Band Glass Jars

Unwilling to go outside, I stayed inside on a rainy day. Anyone who knows me well knows that I cannot just sit around doing nothing. I always have to be moving. My eagerness to stay dry and stay active lead me to this very simple project.

What You’ll Need:

1. A glass vessel  (Luckily my boyfriend saved a glass milk jar knowing I’d find someway to use it).

2. Rubber bands

3. Spray paint

Rubber band glass jar 1-4

Some Tips:

1. Do not expect your spray painted glass to last a lifetime. Eventually, it will chip so be sure to handle your pieces with care and use them as display items only.

2. To help your spray paint stay longer try using an outdoor enamel based paint and apply your paint in light coats. Although I’ve never used Krylon Make It Last Clear Sealer it may also be a great option.

3. Let your spray paint dry for 20 minutes max before removing the rubber bands. This will prevent the paint from lifting off the glass. Cutting the rubber bands with scissors rather than pulling them off also helps.

4. Use an X-Acto Knife to clean up any mistakes.IMG_5239IMG_5183IMG_5200

6 Responses to “”

  1. emmadreamstar May 10, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Reblogged this on Emma DreamStar's Creations and commented:
    So pretty! And very simple to do! I also love the thought of reusing of bottles or jars.

  2. sugarainbowbakery May 10, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    I love this other idea on working with used glass/bottles!! I’ve been doing several styles but didn’t think of this great idea! Thank you for sharing the thought! Love the look in your room!

  3. rebeccasdelightfulhome May 10, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    The vase turned out really pretty. It looks so nice with the rest of your room (love your throw pillow!). Your dog might be the cutest accessory though. ;o)

  4. pretemoiparis May 10, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    A fantastic little idea! I will have to try this for my new apartment once we’ve moved and settled in. Oh, and your French bulldog…ADORABLE! (said with French accent) ^^

  5. Sarah May 10, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    I love this idea! What a great modificaiton to the dipped trend. This is perfect to add just a hint more interest. Love this and (hopefully) will do my own soon!

  6. joc267 May 21, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    Looks great!

Leave a Reply

