1 May

BEFORE & AFTERI discovered this chair at my local Housing Works  a few months ago. Even though it wasn’t much to look at, I was infatuated with the design of the circular shaped back. Thirty bucks later I was its proud owner. I followed the sanding and spray painting instructions on Finding Silver linings  and the upholstery advice of FamilyHandyMan and this was the result.

IMG_5038

This was the perfect chair for my first refurbishing project, but I did learn a few things that I wish I had known when I began my chairventure.

1. Sanding is not overrated it is VERY important. As boring as it may be, sand, sand, sand!

2. Spray paint for both your primer and color is the way to go. I tried using paint primer and it was a disaster. Although it’s  complicated maneuvering spray paint in a NYC apartment (thank god for my balcony) paint can get gloppy when your furniture has lots of crevasses like mine did.

3. Always buy more cushioning then you need for your seat. Padding is key and I wish I had purchased more.

IMG_5031IMG_5039

15 Responses to “”

  1. Why Buy It? DIY It! May 1, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    What a beautiful job you did!

  2. kcassi30 May 1, 2013 at 9:37 am #

    Super Super CUTE!!!

  3. bec {daisy and the fox} May 1, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    love it! awesome before and after – never would know it was $40! 🙂

  4. Pillows A-La-Mode May 1, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    W-O-W!!!

  5. rebeccasdelightfulhome May 1, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Perfect timing! I have been thinking of redoing my dining room chairs. I love the gold and blue on your chair- I never would have thought of that!

  6. kayreusser May 1, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    Cute! Link to Silver Linings doesn’t work.

  7. sweetofstyle May 1, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    OMG Lindsey, you did a fabulous job!!! I LOVE it!!

  8. gdjoken May 1, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Neat refurbishment! Thanks for leaving a few bits of advice from your experience. That might be very helpful later.

  9. "They'llNeverKnow..." May 1, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    Beautiful job! It looks like a brand new chair! I always want to get a bit more bold with my DIY projects, but I too live in the confines of a teeny-tiny NYC apartment! Great tips for making it manageable when you are tight on space!

    http://tnkstyle.wordpress.com/

  10. Deb May 1, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Fantastic! Talk about a transformation! What kind of paint did you use…furniture paint?

  11. ddm@nucast.net May 2, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    Great Job!!!!

  12. sarahtraverse May 2, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    What a beautiful transformation!

  13. Jasmine Maki May 3, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Awesome up cycling! Love this!

  14. bravoeliza May 7, 2013 at 5:54 am #

    Looks great!

  15. KatieF May 7, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    So cute!

Leave a Reply

