DIY: Canvas Wall Art

23 Apr

IMG_4814

Since I moved into my apartment I’ve had three frames hanging above my bed of some artwork I created in college. On a recent visit to New York my mother suggested (in the way mothers often do) that a single piece of art would look better. Her suggestion wasn’t appreciated in the moment, but after some serious contemplation I have to admit that she was right. They always are, aren’t they? Instead of paying for an expensive piece of artwork I bought a large white canvas, some circular color coding labels and spray paint. This was the result.

IMG_4760IMG_4763IMG_4768

Since gold polka dots have become sort of my signature look, this project is perfect for me. I went with two different size circles- a 3/4″ and  1″. I came up with a design and applied my spray paint. Once dry, peel off your stickers and enjoy the final product. Artwork that brings my entire bedroom together for under $50 is okay in my book.

IMG_4788IMG_4775IMG_4786 

11 Responses to “DIY: Canvas Wall Art”

  1. The Blend April 23, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    So COOL! Love the blog!!

  2. belovedmusephotography April 23, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    you’re brilliant. Love it!

  3. designhousebyvalerie April 23, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    Reblogged this on Design House by Valerie Queen and commented:
    I love this DIY canvas wall art as seen on Nuts And Bolts. Click on the link to go to the blog and check it out.

  4. ScrapAndSalvage April 23, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    very creative! and totally brings your room together.

  5. theshellhammer April 23, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    I absolutely love this! How fun and easy to fill some space!

  6. Cowboys and Crossbones April 23, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    How creative and fabulous…even though it was Mom’s idea! 🙂

  7. Deb April 23, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    love, love, love it! It really does pull the room together. I doubt your Mother had this clever idea! It shouts out Nuts and Bolts if you ask me!

  8. Home Seasons April 23, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    That’s really cool! The gold polka dots match your blog 🙂

  9. lalovesblog April 23, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    So crafty!! I love it!
    ~Lauren

Leave a Reply

