DIY: Frame Update

25 Mar

I bought three silver frames from my local Housing Works for $3, but when it came time to hang them the silver frame was not working for me. I needed an update to make these thrift store frames look like designer decor.
IMG_4366All you need for this project is your frame, scissors and the adhesive contact paper of your liking. I went with a simple blue checked pattern. Frame Update DIYInstead of using your typical family photos, I framed three shopping bags that I’ve collected over the years. IMG_4403The first frame is an apple picking bag from the local apple orchard in my hometown. The second is a shopping bag from my NYC hair salon. I love their silhouette logo so whenever I purchase my favorite shampoo, I also save my favorite bag. And finally, the third bag is an homage to one of my favorite designers. I’ve saved this Kate Spade bag since my sister bought me Kate Spade gloves for Christmas six years ago.
IMG_4412IMG_4395IMG_4404

6 Responses to “DIY: Frame Update”

  1. Kristen Van Loon March 25, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    Those are so fun! I love that you decided to frame colorful bags, such a neat idea for mundane items that are too artsy to throw away!

  2. slothhugger March 25, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    That’s really clever and cute!

  3. slipcoverstudio March 25, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    Great idea! I am quite fond of contact paper – I love the chalkboard version, and I recently covered some boxes in it for storage in my laundry room. I think I have some frames that may need an upgrade 🙂

  4. redesigned March 25, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    Love the idea of framing shopping bags! There are so many out there that look so good. ~M.

  5. simplyasweettale March 25, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    creative! yeahh..i love the idea of framing the shopping bag too 😉

  6. TangerineTote March 26, 2013 at 2:02 am #

    So cute! I love it.

Leave a Reply

