Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pancakes

20 Mar

IMG_4279Recently I’ve been craving a big stack of pancakes. You know, the kind you order at a diner at one in the morning where the pancakes are as large as the plate they’re served in. My cravings turned into a reality this week when I stumbled upon Minimalist Baker’s recipe for Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes. IMG_4259

  • 1 very ripe medium banana
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 flax egg
  • pinch salt
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 Tablespoon almond butter
  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil (or coconut oil)
  • 3 Tablespoons almond milk (or sub other milk)
  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • ¼ cup whole wheat or unbleached flour
  • 3 Tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips

I substituted the flaxmeal egg with a real egg and the almond butter for unsalted butter simply because that was what I had in my refrigerator.
IMG_4261IMG_4274IMG_4276I topped them with some Agave and enjoyed! These pancakes are truly amazing. They fill you up without the sick “I just ate too many pancakes” feeling. The banana/chocolate ratio is right on point and they are a non-guilty way to start your day. Check out Minimalist Baker’s website today for some more delicious treats. IMG_4278

14 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pancakes”

  1. slipcoverstudio March 20, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Those look yummy! We might have more than one chocolate chip pancake lover at this house… 😉

  2. Deb March 20, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    i excep Breakfast in Bed when I visit! Sound amazing!

  3. esivy March 20, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    Glad you mentioned your substitutions – I have no idea what a flax egg is. 🙂

    • lindseymckitterick March 20, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      I had no clue what a flax egg was either, but luckily Minimalist Baker explained it (a combination of flax meal and water). You learn something new everyday!

  4. Miss Chris Creations March 20, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    These look so yummy!

  5. thefoodtrollop March 20, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    These look amazing! Might have to make a big breakfast this weekend 🙂

  6. Chelsey March 20, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    My heart skipped a beat when I read the title. Definitely have to try these–they look so delicious!!

  7. Cowboys and Crossbones March 20, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    I am making these this weekend! I can hardly wait!

  8. health advocation March 20, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    yummy, i love your healthy additions with the bananas. yum!

  9. soapboxcrafts March 21, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    Reblogged this on soapboxcrafts Blog and commented:
    I ❤ Chocolate & Breakfast… My 2 fav all in 1:) yumm

  10. egangauntt March 22, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    oh those look delicious!!! they would be a big hit around here!!

  11. Home Seasons March 22, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Those pictures look good enough to eat!

  12. prettygirl1920 March 29, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    Great recipe…must try..they look yummy

Leave a Reply

