Oscar Cocktail Skewers

20 Feb

My homage to this Sunday’s Oscar celebration involved cocktails and a whole lot of glitter. IMG_3971All I needed for my cocktail accessories was glue, wooden skewers, glitter and Studio DIY’s Oscar Statue Printable. IMG_3948I took a screenshot of the Oscar Statue and shrunk it in Word to the desired size for my skewers.IMG_3950Cut out your little statues.IMG_3951Brush a good amount of glue on one side of your statue.
IMG_3955Glitz him up with a significant amount of glitter!IMG_3956You will need two statues for every one skewer.
IMG_3968Using a hot glue gun, glue one statue to your wooden skewer. Then glue another statue to complete your cocktail skewer. IMG_3985Although I love the look of glitter, glittered or gold paper would be a cleanup free alternative way to create the same look. IMG_3975Cheers!

9 Responses to “Oscar Cocktail Skewers”

  1. savynaturalista February 20, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    What a neat ideal I am going, lol I am excited for the Oscars I hope all my favorites win 🙂

  2. Cowboys and Crossbones February 20, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    I’m dying over this fabulous idea!!!

  3. jensine February 20, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    ah so thats how I make a man

  4. Jayme B February 20, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    Hope that’s edible glitter! Very cute.

  5. kuhniverse February 20, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    Very adorable, but does the glitter fall into the cocktails?

    • lindseymckitterick February 22, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      Surprisingly, I did not have that problem. However, if you were using these skewers with a high volume of food & drink, I’d recommend doing this with a sparkly gold paper instead of actual glitter. Thanks for liking!

  6. patinaandcompany February 21, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    You are coming up with the most terrific ideas lately! 2013 must have inspired you!

  7. Irene February 22, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    great idea for a oscar party!

  8. A. Jones February 24, 2013 at 7:10 am #

    Reblogged this on Northern News and commented:
    What a wonderful way to celebrate the movies!

Leave a Reply

