Sally Hansen Nail Strips: A Thumbs Down

24 Jan

13332612Not a day goes by when I have unpolished nails. Very rarely do I treat myself to a manicure. I take pride in painting my nails myself and even find it to be  relaxing and methodical  However, when a new nail product hits the shelves I’m always intrigued. Nail polish strips seem to be all the rage right now; no glue just a simple peel and press. I decided to take a chance and try out Sally Hansen’s Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips this past weekend.

IMG_2955

The clear choice was to go with the Glitz Blitz for under $10. I was really looking forward to long-lasting gold fingers, but there was no glitter in store for this girl. The application process isn’t too difficult, but it is most certainly time consuming if you’re a perfectionist like I am. I assumed the longer it took to put them on, the longer they would last. FALSE. For the first 12 hours I was loving the look and even got a handful of compliments, but by the end of the day the nail strips started to chip. I gave Sally Hansen the benefit of the doubt for one more day, but on the second day the chipping became very noticeable and some nails peeled completely off. No worries, I thought. There were extra strips left in the box so I’d simply replace them. Come to find out the extra strips had completely dried out after initially opening the package; there was no stick left!

6181351538(Although not my fingers, an accurate photo of the nail strips on day two)

I thought maybe this was a one time thing. Perhaps I applied them wrong? I decided to try nail polish strips a second time and had the same exact issues. These strips may look great at first (when the first photo was taken), but if you’re looking for long-lasting nail color these strips are not worth the money or application time. Simply painting and touching up your nails would be a quicker and less expensive option. Sorry Sally, but this is one big Glitz Blitz thumbs down.

20 Responses to “Sally Hansen Nail Strips: A Thumbs Down”

  1. Ice Beautiful January 24, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    I am so sorry that it all went wrong 😦 Thanks for sharing – I was also thinking to try those stripes.

  2. theworldaccordingtogem January 24, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    Such a shame these didn’t work for you. I have a couple of Nail Rock sets that I’m still yet to try. Hopefully they’ll be better than the Sally Hansen ones x

  3. Scrap Me Baby January 24, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Ohh! That is disappointing 😦 but thanks for sharing your experience…I will not be trying these myself!

  4. A Life Worth Styling January 24, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing. I have been wanting to try these but will save my money!

  5. The Classy Bee January 24, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    Thank you for your honest review of these! I was thinking of taking the sticker plunge but I might have to re think! bummer 😦

  6. homecreationseveryday January 24, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    I was curious about these Sally Hansen nail strips. I currently use the Sally Hansen Gel Nails Kit and that works great! I love it and its easy to apply and last about two weeks 🙂 As for the nail strips, I would reconsider purchasing them after seeing the before and after pictures on here and the time in which they lasted on your nails for. I most likely would not be putting this product on my shopping list. Thanks for the information and review on this product!

  7. surf9895 January 24, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    I also wanted to try these, but think I will pass this time around. Thank you!!

  8. Fibro Feist January 24, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    So good to know. I’ve been eyeing them and wondering, too!

  9. Sheila January 24, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Good to know, I love nail polish and was thinking about getting the strips. I think I’ll stick to regular polish now.

  10. tristakellman January 24, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    I looked at these in CVS the other day because they were on sale; maybe that’s why! Either way, I guess I’m glad I didn’t try them.

  11. Cowboys and Crossbones January 24, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

    Thanks for the honest review – I have some Betsey Johnson nail strips that I’ve been dying to use but a little hesitant because I only do my nails once a week. It drive me insane having a chip (or ultimately having to repaint mid-week).

  12. yellowisthenewblack January 24, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    I had the same experiences with that brand too! My mom bought some of the strips that Sephora sells and she had much better luck with them. I have found that gel polish has the best staying power. Love the glitter though 🙂

  13. Iris Interiors LLC January 24, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    The nail strips take forever to apply. I’m a perfectionist too. I’ve tried the Sally Hansen ones several times. A few designs stayed on for almost two weeks. Others have peeled within a few days. It’s always disappointing when all the effort goes to waste.

  14. Hepburn Interiors, LLC January 24, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    Sadly, actual glitter polish is such a pain to remove – I wish the strips worked better! Thanks for keeping us fellow nail polish gurus informed!

  15. Must Have Boxes January 24, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    Beautiful color but too bad the strips don’t stay on.

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

  16. Eclectic Medicine Design House January 25, 2013 at 3:10 am #

    A real shame they didn’t last, loved what they looked like when first applied!

  17. momoftwosalums January 25, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Thank you for sharing! I am not that wonderful at painting my nails so I was thinking about getting them! Not anymore!

  18. kuhniverse January 26, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    I’ve been using the hello kitty nail stickers; they’re small shapes and you stick it on a nail and cover it with clear polish. It lasts forever and is super adorable.

  19. Ma Petit Chou February 2, 2013 at 3:46 am #

    I haven’t tried nail strips either and recently bought the Sally Hansen ones myself. It’s disappointing to hear that they chipped so quickly…I wonder if applying a top coat might have prevented that?

  20. lillydoll27 February 15, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    Sadly they luck do cute!! And it’s hard to get that affect with “normal” nail-polish 😦

Leave a Reply

