Apt. Facelift

16 Jan

I’ve only been living in my apartment for a year and a half and already I’m  getting that the urge to redecorate. It starts small…a new rug here and a new lamp there, but then your itch for a new design scheme grows. Before you know it you’re repainting and refurnishing. Being a mere twenty-six years old and living in Manhattan, I most certainly cannot afford to redo my apartment. However, I’ve decided on a few main pieces that I will SLOWLY purchase in order to give my place the facelift it needs.

Tempaper:

damsel-metallic-silver-tempaper-wallpaperAfter draping wrapping paper along the walls of my dining room nook for my New Year’s Eve party I realized how great it would look if there was wallpaper up year round. I’m not sure if I’d necessarily pick this exact print, but tempaper is an ideal way to transform any rented space without the expenses and hassle of real wallpaper.

Ghost Chair:

KTL1010_aI’ve had my heart set on this ghost chair way before they were in style. I think this chair would go perfectly with my new white West Elm Parsons desk that I recently purchased. Pairing it with my white sheepskin rug for comfort will make for the perfect match!

Bar Cart:

the-art-of-the-bar-cartI’ve been looking for something to place to the right of my television set for a while now. I want something  that will not only cover my outlet and power cords, but something that is functional. Seeing as I have an obsession with gold and cocktails, I think this bar cart and I are a match made in heaven.

Gold Pig Bookends:

gold-pig-bookends-set-of-2I dare someone to give me one reason why I don’t need this. It is amazing, enough said.

Chandelier:

2011_08_01_archiveI’ve been waiting my entire life to be the owner of a gorgeous chandelier. I may not be able to afford one of this grandeur right now,  but I will scourer thrift stores and local Housing Works until I find one I can refurbish and proudly hang above my kitchen table.

14 Responses to “Apt. Facelift”

  1. Ice Beautiful January 16, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    I love all these things that you have chosen for your apartment! It does not matter what is in style it matters that you do have the ability to pull up the stylish apartment from the things you like.

  2. thymelesssageandrandomrants January 16, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    After dealing with wallpaper removal over the years, I have sworn off the stuff, but this is such a great idea and I love the print. The “ghost” chair is perfect for small places as it visually takes up no space. Nice planning.

  3. Chelsey January 16, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    That ghost chair would look gorgeous with a white desk! I can’t wait to see what you do with your apartment. =)

  4. Lauren January 16, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    I love Ghost chairs! I recently saw them on a reality TV show in someone’s apartment and was reminded how stylish they are. Good luck pulling it all together!

  5. Cowboys and Crossbones January 16, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    The selections you’ve chosen are gorgeous – I especially love the bar cart and the idea of wallpaper. Good luck!

  6. Fibro Feist January 16, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    I say, put up the wallpaper. Sure, you’ll one day hate it, but for now–you will LOVE it. My dining room is papered and I’m smitten with it. In the same room, I have this chandelier, which wasn’t *too* crazy expensive and makes me happy every time I see it:

    http://www.potterybarn.com/products/clarissa-glass-drop-chandelier/?pkey=cchandeliers&cm_src=chandeliers||NoFacet-_-NoFacet-_–_-

    Can’t wait to see your place “facelifted!” 🙂

  7. Christina Ebbers January 16, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Thanks for the follow! Your blog looks pretty wonderful. Added to my RSS reader. 🙂

  8. onibella January 16, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

    I love, love, love this post! Thanks for the follow. 🙂

  9. esivy January 16, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

    I’m looking for a chandelier for my dressing area. I also need a dressing table. You know, first things first. I think I want one that’s mirror covered and has a 50s influence.

  10. eeb11511 January 16, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    Love it all! The temporary wall paper sounds pretty cool. Thanks for following me!

  11. monogramsandmakeovers January 17, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Love the pig book ends! Thanks for the follow. I’ll definitely be checking your blog out.

  12. A Life Worth Styling January 19, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    I have been wanting those darn Ghost chairs for years! I love them. Love the wrapping paper idea too!

  13. Sasha January 22, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    Oh man. That bar cart… So Donald Draper’s office. I love it!

  14. prettygirl1920 March 29, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    Loving the ghost chairs

Leave a Reply

