Coffee Table Essentials

11 Jan

Although I love my West Elm coffee table, styling a round table can be tricky. I’ve re-structured and re-styled mine dozens of times. I’ve never quite settled on one coffee tablescape, but I have settled on my coffee table essentials.

9ea184860de549bf_3863-w422-h226-b1-p0--modern%20coffee%20tables

1. Trays: Who doesn’t love a good tray? They keep things contained, are transportable and (now that they are so in) there’s lots of fun shapes and colors to choose from.

IMG_3331

2. Candles & Flowers: Whether your want to set the mood or are trying to coverup the smell of the dinner you cooked last night, flowers and candles are a necessity.

IMG_3334

3. Activities: Your coffee table should always provide your guests with something to do.

IMG_3339Books with lots of beautiful photos make for the ideal coffee table read. My favs include Design*Sponge’s at Home and an addicting photo book titled Puppyhood (see above photo). A deck of cards or in my case, Catchphrase, is always great to have on hand if there’s a lull in conversation. 

IMG_33414. Something for you: Whether its nail polish or in my case, a nail file, it’s always nice to have something you use frequently nearby. When I’m an hour deep into my favorite shows the last thing I want to do is get up and go search for my nail file. Just be sure to move it when your guests arrive!

16 Responses to “Coffee Table Essentials”

  1. preppyandfunny January 11, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    love love love this post! so trueand helpful! thank yu for sharing! xoxo

  2. Lauren January 11, 2013 at 9:15 am #

    This looks straight out of a magazine! I really need to get a tray or something and keep my coffee table neat.

    • lindseymckitterick January 11, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

      Lauren,

      Thank you so much for the sweet compliment! Trays are the best. They have a wide variety at West Elm and you can always find some inexpensive ones at homegoods or any thrift store/housingworks.

  3. thymelesssageandrandomrants January 11, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Although my style is completely traditional, I also have a round glass coffee table and struggle to accessorize. I have a tray with a plant on mine, now, but I love the idea of a “personal” item on it…mine might be a tea cup. And, we share the love of Catch Phrase!

  4. Chelsey January 11, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    I LOVE this! I’ve been struggling to decorate my coffee table for years. Either it’s completely devoid of anything or it’s a mess. Where did you get the nice cloth you have covering it?

    • lindseymckitterick January 11, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

      Chelsey,
      I’m so glad you enjoyed my post! What looks like a cloth covering on the table is actually my rug underneath the clear glass. Covering it with something might be a nice change if I ever get sick of it though!

      Thanks for reading!

      • Chelsey January 11, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

        Oh! lol Wow, it really looked like it was sitting on top of the glass. It’s a very cute rug, though. Thanks!

      • Chelsey January 11, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

        On a whim, I decided to come back and check this out again. And now that I’m wearing my new contacts and not my old glasses…I can see that it’s a rug and not a tablecloth. I think it’s time to get my glasses renewed…. O_O Feeling very silly. But it’s still cute!

  5. poshlittledesigns January 11, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    I have coffee table envy. Favorite thing…that gold mason jar vase. So fab!

  6. J. A. Robinson January 11, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Lindsey–THANKS for subscribing to my “pun-ny” photoblog! I hope I can bring you a smile (or at least a groan) every weekday!

    Your blog is a wonderful source of innovative, creative ideas. I will have to come back to spend more time. Speaking of arts/crafts, I make Art from Recyclables: http://www.ohio.edu/people/robinsoj/recycled_art/

    –John

  7. thriftykristy January 11, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    Oh, how I love to style and re-style my coffee table. Looks great! xo Kristin

  8. Sarah Pirtle January 11, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Lindsey, this is the first post of yours I read and I already love your blog ;-). Thanks for stopping by my little online space & for the follow. Can’t wait to watch your posts!

  9. twopurplecouches January 11, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    love it! i need to get on making over my coffee table!

  10. pretemoiparis January 11, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    Puppyhood?!? WHAT is that!?! I think I NEED it.

  11. The Wandering Gourmand January 11, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    So I’m guessing your not a supporter of weeks old mail left on the coffee table?

  12. Ruby January 12, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    This is for you! http://yourinnerfeathersbyruby.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/another-blog-award-thank-you/ Have an amazing Saturday!

Leave a Reply

