Why I Should Not Get A Dog

25 Jun

Lately I’ve been infatuated with the idea of getting a dog, specifically a stocky white French bulldog named Potato Chip. I know what you’re thinking, but as a slightly overweight seven-year-old Potato Chip sounded like an ingenious name and I’ve never let it go. I can just picture myself walking little “P.C.” or “Chip” through Central Park and making him tiny sweaters for the winter moths. Maybe it’s my maternal clock going off or trying to fill some sort of fat kid void, but this French bulldog fantasy has gotten out of hand.

Admitting I have a problem is the first step on the road to recovery. I figured the best way to end this would be to compose a list of reasons why getting a dog would be a terrible idea.

So here it is. The Top Ten Reasons Why I should Not Get a French Bulldog:

  1. I live in NYC
  2. I like my living room rug too much for it to get peed on.
  3. I have a full time job with no breaks during the day.
  4. My Frenchie would obviously be the cutest on the block so it might cause some animosity between Chip and the other dogs in my building.
  5. I cannot afford to pay someone a ridiculous sum of money to take my dog for a walk around the block everyday.
  6. The idea of having a wee-wee pad (aka: a litter box for dogs) grosses me out.
  7. I live alone with no roommates to relieve me of responsibilities.
  8. I’m slightly OCD so after NYC walks I’d constantly be fighting the urge not to give my dog nightly deep conditioning baths.
  9. My friends would be jealous.
  10.  I would no longer be the creepy person without a dog at the dog park (a title that I’ve become strangely accustom to).

Writing this really helped to put things into prospective. Getting a dog would be a ridiculously expensive and irresponsible move at this point in my life. With that being said, I’m still obsessed and pretty much set on getting one.

We’re back at square one folks. On that note, I gotta jet and get to work early so I can set my screen saver to Frenchie photos before my boss gets in.

6 Responses to “Why I Should Not Get A Dog”

  1. kaceytorres June 25, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Oh. my. goodness. That has to be the cutest little bulldog I’ve ever seen! And I love the name potato chip! I’m convinced that I need a labradoodle and I plan on naming him Taco:) I’m going to wait until I have a yard though…I”m not crazy about dogs in houses:P

  2. sweetofstyle June 25, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    OMG! I want a dog too! For looong enough it wasn’t a good idea. I just can’t bearthe thought of cleaning dog poop off the street! But. and similarly, I dunno if I’m getting to the ‘old & lonely’ stage or what, but lately I’ve firmly decided that come what may – I’m getting one. I’m hoping to find a cuuute little yorkie ir west highland terrier! Best of luck to you 🙂

  3. sweetofstyle June 25, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    for long enough *I was convinced it wasn’t a good idea (I just can’t bear the thought of cleaning dog poop off the street). – Forgive my typo!

  4. homeandhearthmagazine June 26, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    NYC is so dog friendly. Especially on the upper east. Go on, get a dog.

  5. katherine July 1, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    I’m not sure if you’re a cat person or not, but when I lived alone in NYC, I adopted two little kitties (one from Bidewee in Midtown East – it’s a great organization! ASPCA is another excellent option.) =^._.^=

  6. Micky July 7, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    I’d love to have a dog, and unfortunately I like big dogs. My dream is to have a great dane – and that is not going to happen. We have a cat (from Bidewee, kathrine 🙂 ) and all I can do is add to your list: if you want/need to travel, having a pet is a major problem. You either take them with you – which can be stressful-expensive-sometimes inappropriate, or have a pet-sitter – and that can be hard to find-expensive-stressful.
    Sorry to be a debbie downer, those guys are soooo adorable!

Leave a Reply

