Austin

1 May

I just returned from my two week work travels. The first stop was Miami and the second was Austin. The results are in and I have to say that Austin wins hands down. Don’t get me wrong Miami was gorgeous, but Austin’s old time flair and hilarious locals won me over. Here are a few things I liked most about my adventures in Austin.

Electronic Signs:

Glitzy things that light up happen to be a weakness of mine so naturally I took to all the electronic signs. Unlike the tackiness of Vegas signs, the old-fashioned Austin signs were perfectly placed throughout the city.

Austin ATM:

If NYC had fun barn-styled ATM’s I might be  more excited to withdraw from my bank account.

BBQ:

County Style Pork Ribs, Chicken with lime rub, and creamy mac n’ cheese from Lamberts. There are no words to describe the deliciousness of this meal.

Cowhide:

I now want to redecorate my apartment in leather. I was so obsessed with these Cowhide leather chairs at Lamberts restaurant that I spent half the dinner photographing them. Home decor is about the only thing that will tear me away from food.

Antique Stores:

We walked into a few on South Congress Ave. but my favorite was Uncommon Objects. It was like a museum of recycled artifacts with each room being a different theme. It is an Austin must-see.

Food Trucks:

If you know me at all, you know that I love food on the go. The rows of food trucks in Austin made my day.

I particularly liked the inventive names.

Honky-tonk:

Entering Broken Spoke was like walking onto the set of Thelma and Louise. It is the only place where it is acceptable for sixty-year old cowboys to ask you to dance without it seeming pervy.

Maybe it was the cowboy manikin or maybe it was the bathroom walls plastered with magazine cut-outs of cowboys, but either way Broken Spoke was the best part of the entire trip.

Can’t wait to return to Austin again for that second dance I promised cowboy Tino.

4 Responses to “Austin”

  1. april25thdesign May 1, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    As a Texas gal, your posting was great about Austin!

  2. patinaandcompany May 1, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Loving the sense of character of Austin in your post. In Canada, we have a similar culture shock when we visit Calgary/Edmonton, where people go around wearing cowboy hats a civilian garb.

  3. Sasha May 3, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    You’re so lucky you get to travel for work! And to such warm, funny places!
    p.s. if you’re into food trucks, have you heard of this event? http://iadventure.com/show.cfm?id=147739
    this saturday @ the seaport. be there or…

Leave a Reply

