Fat Friday

30 Mar

The approaching summer season has me craving fresh vegetables. I’m not sure if it’s the warm weather or the fact that it’s going to be beach bod season, but I’ve been dreaming of a delicious salad.

I had one of my most memorable salads in St. Louis, MO at a quaint farm-to-table restaurant called Farmhaus. Our meal went so far as to turn my anti-veggie coworker into a salad fan. From the arch to Farmhaus we went. As an office we like to share food. This is partly because we’re a generous group, but mainly because we’re looking for an excuse to try everything on menu.

The salad came out in a mason jar heaped with goat cheese. Our waiter suavely poured the contents onto our plate. The dish consisted of okra, yellow wax beans, heirloom tomatoes, carrots, shaved fennel, grilled corn and thyme. All the ingredients were local and fresh. I’m not sure what I liked more the salad or the presentation. We dug in and had to duke it out for the last bite of goat cheese.

We  obviously couldn’t eat a salad without ordering something fried to go along with. We tried the Conch fritters.  They were light and lovely served with grilled corn, jalapeño and Sriracha mayo.

 

 

Whenever I see scallops on a menu, I have to them. They were served with creamed sweet corn, bacon,poached mushrooms and heirloom tomatoes.

It was the ideal light summer meal…until we went out afterwards for margaritas and dessert.
2 Responses to “Fat Friday”

  1. mygoalcalledlife March 31, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    A salad in a mason jar? Fun! Sounds delish…love your Fat Friday posts 🙂

  2. Mom March 31, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Yummy ….I’ll have to try that scallop combination sometime!

Leave a Reply

