Salon Wall

28 Mar

Although I love the gray color of my walls I cannot stand blank wall space. I knew I wanted to create a Salon styled wall to bring some life into my living room. Some people prefer wall displays to be more symmetrical, clean and based on repetition. You can find some examples of that here. I, on the other hand, prefer a more eclectic hodgepodge of artwork.

I collected my frames from all over. Frames can be pricey so over the course of a few months I checked out my local Housing Works, T.J Maxx and even found some great options on Amazon.com.

Some Tips:

*Color Scheme: I suggest sticking with an overall color scheme. Although I did add in some color, I decided to work mainly with black and gold frames. This gives your wall a sense of cohesiveness. You want everything to look like it belongs.

*Don’t be afraid to play! Play with textures, shape, and color. Don’t stick with just a plain flat frame. Throw in a bold cut-out or even a circular frame to mix things up. Also, don’t forget about your lines! Be sure to play with vertical and horizontal frames.

*Add something other than art:  I went with a wall clock, but a small shelf display would work just as well.

*Etsy is your best friend: I was able to find some great prints on this amazing website, including my Button U.S.A map and King Pug Newsprint.

*Get Resourceful: If you dont have the money or the resources to buy art, frame some printed paper or a design you like from a magazine. I ended up framing a wallpaper sample I had lying around (which you can see in the horizontal gold frame above).

*Although you want your wall to appear to be thrown together, you still want to maintain a level “organized chaos”. In order to do this, lay all of your wall hangings on the floor before nailing anything down. Move things around until you find an arrangement that is truly eye-catching.

The beauty of the Salon Wall is that you can keep adding to it over time. As I continue to make memories in this city, I can continue to add to my wall.IMG_0756

12 Responses to “Salon Wall”

  1. Ice Beautiful March 28, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    Looks great! I am curious, how it looks as a detail in the room. Could you please show more of the interior ?

  2. My Style Workshop March 28, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Love King Pug and Button USA!!

  3. lindseymckitterick March 28, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    Thanks! As per your request I added a photo of the room. Unfortunately, my living room is narrow (silly NYC apartments) so it’s difficult to get everything in in one shot. I hope this helps! Thanks for the like!

  4. brunchforeverymeal March 28, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I spy the Design Sponge book I gave you! Hope you’ve gotten some use out of it now that you’re a rising bloggy star!

    • lindseymckitterick March 28, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      I cannot imagine not owning that book. It was my favorite Christmas present! We can compare notes when I see you in two weeks!

  5. girl about town dayton March 28, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Love this post! What a great idea. I have been meaning to do this in my bathroom, actually.

  6. deCamville Design March 28, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    I love pearl grey too – on walls, to wear in my clothing. Your blog is fun! I’m so glad I stopped by. Thanks for visiting mine as well!

  7. Haute March 29, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    This is a great idea!! When I redecorate my studio I’ll have to keep this in mind!

  8. Lisa Carr March 30, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    Lindsey..your apartment is so SexintheCity!!! I’ve never lived in New York, or even been there(!!) but..if I did…I would want to have a space just like yours! Gorgeousness!!

  9. Sasha March 31, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    This is great! I love that little blue clock. It reminds me of some things we had in our apartment in Ukraine.

  10. sooofullofcraft May 16, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    Love the Brit flag pillow!

  11. abyrdwithaword January 7, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    I love your eclectic creative eye and the room is so inviting!

Leave a Reply

