Jewelry Corkboard

19 Mar

Being a sucker for a gold frame I impulsively bought a framed cork-board from Ballard Design. What I failed to do was read the measurements before clicking the purchase button. What I thought was going to be a small corkboard for over my desk ended up being a gigantic hanging half the size of me. In an attempt to see the glass half full, I decided to turn this gold framed corkboard into a jewlry organizer. Here’s how.

Materials:

  • Corkboard
  • Fabric: Anything will do. In an effort to save money, I used some old pillowcases.
  • Wired material to hang earrings on. I decided to use The Circo Sink Mat from the Conatiner Store, but any sort of wired fencing material will do.
  • Hooks & Tacks: I bought a variety of hooks with screw backs, tacks, push pins, and small coat hooks from Home Depot.

1. Measure and cut your fabric to the size you need. Be sure to iron the fabric with starch so it’s crisp, wrinkle-free, and easy to pin down.

2. Tack down the fabric evenly around the edges of your board. I used white thumbtacks, but pushpins or staples also work well.

3. Add your earring holder wherever  it works best for you.

4. Screw in and scatter the hooks to your liking. I recommend putting a few up top for any long pendant necklaces you might have.

Somehow my accidental online purchase tuned into a practical piece to display my jewelry.

15 Responses to “Jewelry Corkboard”

  1. Linda March 19, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Great idea. I will have to try. TFS!

  2. brunchforeverymeal March 19, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    That’s so adorable! Ps where did you get that shoe organizer? Maybe a blog post on it? lol

    • pretemoiparis January 8, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

      I thought the same thing about the shoe rack!!

  3. Mom March 19, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I already told you this was a genius idea!

  4. april25thdesign March 19, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    great idea!

  5. lindsbrks328 March 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Totally adorable!!!!!! I have a corkboard that I have bee dying to do something with, and necklaces on a hook in my closet that have been getting ridiculously tangled! Thank you so much for giving me a GREAT way to solve both of those problems!!

  6. ConfettiStyle March 28, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Seeing so many basic size cork board displays for jewelry, I found your larger-than-life display absolutely fantastic! You’re a girl after my own heart when it comes to jewelry and I think displaying it in a grand way is awesome.

  7. ARTforthe5thWALL October 18, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    so crafty…what a great way to organize/display jewelry. Will add this project to the ever expanding to-do list.

  8. the Painted Apron December 20, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    I love this! The size is great, a girl can never have enough jewelry! Super creative! Thanks for following the Painted Apron!
    Jenna

  9. Lauren January 2, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    I’m trying to figure out my own jewelry storage solution. This turned out great!

  10. Joni Reeves January 4, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    Really cute and über practical!!

  11. pretemoiparis January 8, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Nice! Great idea.

  12. todayiamhappythat March 18, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    Not sure which I love most- the corkboard or your fab jewellery!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Year for Annashortcakes!!! « annashortcakes - July 29, 2012

    […] Such a kind, supportive place where you can learn how to make new things (I want to try this Jewelry Cork Board), where you can meet fantastic new people (Greg and Katherine, Rosemary, Karen, Celia, Ashley, and […]

  2. Framed Jewelry Display | Other Clever Things - March 27, 2013

    […] When it comes to organizing I generally like to hide my junk in opaque containers so there isn’t any visual clutter. I found out this doesn’t work for jewelry as it tends to turn into a tangled mess.  After a little Pinterest research I found tons of inspiration and I really liked this cork board jewelry organizer from Nuts and Bolts. […]

Leave a Reply

