My Corner

15 Mar

This is my corner. Unique, bright, bold, but complimentary.

Chair: This cursive scripted chair holds sentimental value because it was my very first “big girl” furniture purchase in the “big city”. The chair, which my Mom and I have deemed, “the Shakespeare chair”,  went through a lot during its journey to NYC. After traveling through a rain storm in my Dad’s truck bed, it had some serious water damage. I spent my move-in day (admittedly crying) and hovering over the chair with a hairdryer trying to save it. One back ache and two blown fuses later, Shakespeare was saved. I love this chair.

Coconut Mirror: I have definitely made some online decor purchases that I’ve regretted, but this is certainly not one of them. This mirror might be my favorite piece in the apartment. I saw it (on sale) at West Elm and was immediately drawn to it. The bright beige jumps off my grey walls and it’s unlike anything I’ve ever seen before.

Burlap Pillow: I mean, honestly, who doesn’t love a British flag? I was looking to incorporate some red into my space when I spotted this patriotic pillow. I knew I had to have it. The color pops and the burlap fabric adds texture to the room. Although some people (cough, cough…my boyfriend) dislikes the burlap smell, I choose style over smell any day of the week.

Lamp: Some people say to find one piece that you really love and design a room around it, others strongly disagree. Im not sure where I stand, but that’s essentially what happened with this lamp. I found it at Homegoods months before my move. At that point I didn’t have a clue what look I was going for, but I knew I wasn’t leaving the store without it. When you find something that is just so “you”,  sometimes you gotta trust your instincts and go with it. This lamp ended up being the inspiration for the color scheme of my entire place.

{Lindsey’s Corner}

4 Responses to “My Corner”

  1. loftyappetite March 15, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    i love the lamp!! I just recently also updated my bedroom around lamps I found at Marshalls. They changed the vibe of the room, so i had to find basic pieces that enhanced them instead of clashed with them!

    • lindseymckitterick March 15, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      What in the world would we do without Marshall’s and Homegoods? I would be lost and my apartment would be empty.

      • loftyappetite March 15, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

        yess, and also my closet 😉

  2. Sasha March 23, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I love your corner! Very, very nice. Add a nice cup of tea and you’re ready for some serious reading time.

Leave a Reply

